At-Large Position #1


Vashaundra Edwards

Vashaundra Edwards is a self-determined individual with a passion for helping the people in her community. Vashaundra is a native of Missouri City; attending Edgar Glover Elementary, Lake Olympia Middle School, and Thurgood Marshall High School. During her high school years, she completed countless hours of community services and always demonstrated herself as a steward of the community. Vashaundra attended the University of Houston-Downtown where she received her bachelor's degree in Criminal Justice and minor in Political Science.  

As a lifelong resident of Missouri City, Vashaundra is accustomed to serving the needs of the people. She is a true public servant and enjoys meeting the needs of the people. Working as an officer of the community she is already familiar with mentoring the youth and empathizing with those that are not as fortunate as others. She is an experienced problem solver and understands the importance of implementing strategies to create the best solution. Her goal as a City Council Member is to apply this approach to finding answers to the problems Missouri City has faced for years.

Growing up in Missouri City, Vashaundra has always witnessed the lack of representation to the East side and the poor economic development to the overall city. Her goal is to provide equal representation to all areas of Missouri City and to unify the entire community. Vashaundra has provided community service to at-risk youth in surrounding areas in Fort Bend County and Harris County. She is passionately committed to fighting for equality for all citizens of Missouri City and improving community involvement, transparency of government, and servant leadership.

Vashaundra was elected as the City Council At-Large Position #1 member on November 6, 2018 and sworn into office on November 19, 2018.

Current City Council Committee Memberships

  • Livable Community Committee
  • Planning, Development, and Infrastructure Committee
  1. Council Actions
  2. City Calendar
View All

Other Council Members

Mayor J. Elackatt