Click to Home
Go To Search
PrintEmail
MCTX Bike

Bike Website-01.jpg

Rental Requirements

Except as provided in this policy, a renter must be 18 years or older.  A bicycle may be rented to a child under the age of 18 with the consent of a parent or legal guardian.  The parent or legal guardian must be present in order for the City to rent a bicycle to the child.  

A renter must present a valid government-issued ID at the time of rental.     

A renter must have a valid credit card under the renter’s own name at the time of rental.  The City will not accept any other form of payment, including cash or a check, for the purpose of renting a bicycle from the City.  By providing credit card information and renting a bicycle, a renter authorizes the City to charge the rental fee, and any other amounts due from the rental of the bicycle, in accordance with this policy. 

Rental Hours

Bicycles will be available for rental at the Recreation and Tennis Center (the “Recreation Center”) located at 2701 Cypress Point Drive, Missouri City, Texas 77489 on a first-come first-serve basis.  No reservations will be accepted.

Except for City holidays, bicycles will available for rental on the following days and time:

Monday-Thursday  7 am - 7 pm
Friday  8 am - 5 pm
Saturday  8 am - 3 pm
Sunday  12 pm - 4 pm

Rental Fee

A renter may rent a bicycle for a three-hour timeframe per day.  A member of the Recreation Center may rent a bicycle for the three-hour timeframe at no charge.  Any other renter may rent a bicycle for a fee of $5, per bicycle, for the three-hour timeframe. The total rental fee is due at the time of rental.  The City will not issue any credit or refund if the bicycle is returned before the scheduled return time. 

No child under the age of 14 may rent a bicycle unless the child has a helmet in his or her possession at the time of rental.  The City will rent a helmet, at no additional fee, to a child under the age of 14 who does not have a helmet in his or her possession at the time of the rental. The City will also rent a helmet, at no additional fee, to any other renter who requests a helmet.  By renting a helmet from the City, a renter agrees to wear the helmet at all times the renter is riding a rented bicycle.

A bicycle and/or helmet must be returned to the Recreation Center by the scheduled return time.  A renter who does not return a bicycle and/or helmet before the scheduled return time will be charged a fine of $5, per bicycle or helmet, per hour, until the Recreation Center closes for business on the rental day.  Thereafter, if the bicycle and/or helmet is not returned to the Recreation Center, the renter will be charged a late fee of $20 per day, per bicycle or helmet, for up to five days.  If the bicycle and/helmet is not returned within five days from the date of rental, the renter will be charged a bicycle replacement fee of up to $300, per bicycle, depending on the make and model of the bicycle rented, and/or a helmet replacement fee of up to $30, per helmet, depending on the type and style of the helmet, regardless of whether the bicycle and/or helmet is lost or stolen.

A renter who returns a bicycle and/or a helmet damaged, outside normal wear and tear, shall be charged a damage fee of up to $300 per bicycle and/or a damage fee of up to $30, per helmet, depending on the extent of the damage.

Renter Responsibilities


A renter shall, at all time while riding a rented bicycle, follow all the laws, rules and regulations of the road including traffic signs and signals.

Under no circumstances, shall a renter operate a rented bicycle while under the influence of alcohol or any drug(s), prescribed or not, that may impair the renter's ability to safely ride the bicycle.

It is the renter's responsibility to check a bicycle and/or helmet for any pre-existing damage prior to renting a bicycle and/or helmet and leaving the Recreation Center with the rented bicycle and/or helmet.

Only the renter listed in the Rental Agreement is authorized to operate the bicycle. The renter will be held responsible for the acts and/or any damage caused or incurred by any unauthorized renter regardless of fault.

A renter shall lock a rented bicycle when not in use with an appropriate bicycle lock.
 
A renter must sign the Rental Agreement prior to renting a bicycle.


The City reserves the right to refuse to rent a bicycle and/or helmet to any person who has previously violated the terms of this policy and/or the Rental Agreement.


Biking Information

 MCTX Bike Bike Safety Tips

Helmet Fit Test

Rules of Riding

Bike Maintenance

Bike Lanes