Driver Safety Course
Course Requirements / Restrictions
If you have received a moving violation, you may be eligible to complete a driving safety course and keep the violation off your driving record. However, you will lose that right if you do not provide to the court on or before your appearance date your request to do so. The court must approve your request prior to you taking the course. The requirements are as follows:
- An approval email from the court is required before taking the driver’s safety course.
- You are not currently enrolled in a driving safety course.
- You have not taken a driving safety course in order to have a ticket dismissed in the preceding 12 months from the date of this offense.
- You have a valid Texas driver’s license or permit. (Commercial license holders may not take driving safety for dismissal of a moving violation.)
- You must provide current proof of liability insurance (copy of insurance card) which shows you as a covered driver.
- Provisional, limited term, and learners permit holders may request DSC online or in person at the lobby window.
Driving Safety Courses
Note: Violators 16 years of age or under must appear in court accompanied by parent or guardian. Check our list of moving violations that are eligible for a driving safety course.
Failure to present to the court proof of completion of the driving safety course or motorcycle operator training course and a certified copy of your driver's record (type 3A) from the Texas Department of Public Safety on or before the 90th day from your request will result in the the court entering a judgment of conviction with a fine of $200 and reporting the conviction to the Texas Department of Public Safety to be recorded on your driving record as required by law.
If you were cited for any of the following, you are not eligible to take a driving safety course to defer your ticket:
- All offenses committed while operating a commercial motor vehicle (CMV)
- Driving in a construction or maintenance zone when workers present
- Leaving the scene of an accident after causing damage to a vehicle that is driven or attended the scene of a collision
- Leaving the scene of an accident and failing to give information and/or render aid
- Passing a school bus loading or unloading children
- Persons who held a commercial driver’s license at the time of the offense or hold a commercial driver's license (CDL) at the time of the request for DSC, including when the person is driving his or her own personal vehicle
- Speeding 25 or more miles per hour over the posted speed limit
If you do not wish to appear in court but wish only to pay the amount of your citation, you may do so on or before the arraignment date that is shown on your citation using the Online Payment Site.
However, violators 16 years of age or under must appear in court accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.