In accordance with Fort Bend and Harris Counties, Mayor Yolanda Ford is issuing a local order requiring that face coverings (homemade masks, scarfs, bandanas, and handkerchiefs) be worn in all local businesses and workplaces by employees and patrons. Order No. O-20-02 will be in effect on June 28 at 12:01 a.m. and it further addresses the City’s need to ensure the safety and protection of citizens, public servants, visitors and stakeholders as the number of COVID-19 cases escalates in the region.
As of today—Friday, June 26, there are a total of 529 positive cases in Missouri City, with 485 in Fort Bend County and 44 in Harris County. The statewide increase has been 5,000 plus new cases per day for the last three days with 5,707 new cases today.
“The rising number of cases in the region is alarming and we need to do everything possible to curb this virus from spreading,” said Mayor Yolanda Ford. “We continue to have the highest number of cases in Fort Bend County, so let’s come together as a community and do our part by wearing masks, washing hands and socially distancing ourselves, to ensure that Missouri City does not turn into a severe COVID-19 hot spot.”
The MCTX order specifies that:
- All commercial entities in Missouri City that provide goods and services on such premises directly to the public must develop, post, and implement a policy requiring all employees and visitors 10 years of age and older to wear face coverings.
- Commercial entities post the policy in a conspicuous location to provide employees and visitors with sufficient notice of the policy.
- Failure to develop, post, and implement the policy by June 30, 2020, may result in a fine, not to exceed $1,000 for each violation.
The Missouri City policy does not require face coverings to be worn in the following circumstances:
- When in outdoor facilities;
- When doing so poses a mental or physical health, safety, or security risk;
- While pumping gas or operating outdoor equipment;
- While in a building or activity that requires security surveillance or screening; or
- When consuming food and drink
To review the full signed MCTX facial protection order, Click Here.
This order mirrors the existing orders from Harris County Judge Lina Hidalgo, which began Monday, June 22 and Fort Bend County Judge K. P. George, which went into effect on Thursday, June 25. Texas Gov. Greg Abbott also issued several executive orders this week that paused the re-opening of Texas, limited outside gatherings, closed bars/clubs and more. View details below:
Also, today Harris County’s COVID-19 threat level was elevated to ‘Level 1 - Stay Home’, which signifies a severe and uncontrolled level of COVID-19 within the region, meaning outbreaks are present and worsening and that testing and contact tracing capacity is strained or exceeded. At this level, the public is advised to minimize contacts with others wherever possible and avoid leaving home except for the most essential needs like going to the grocery store for food and medicine.
MCTX residents who experience symptoms or who were exposed to a COVID-19 patient may get tested using one of the testing options listed below:
- Fort Bend County Residents - Call 281.238.2363 or complete the online screening tool via this link: https://bit.ly/2KJu94m to schedule an appointment. Once the online assessment is complete or after talking with a representative, an access code will be given along with appointment time and testing location. There should not be any cost associated with this testing. For additional details, visit: www.fbchealth.org/ncov.
- Harris County Residents - Call 832.927.7575 or complete the online self-assessment tool via this link: https://bit.ly/3cTEFCe to schedule an appointment. Once you complete the online assessment or talk with a representative, an access code will be given along with appointment time and testing location. There should not be any cost associated with this testing. For more details, visit: publichealth.harriscountytx.gov.
- Other State Approved Testing Centers - To further assist residents, the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS), has put together a comprehensive list of all drive-through testing locations across the state of Texas including the county sites. To access the map and to find a testing facility near you, click this link: https://bit.ly/3bMuTBF. Citizens may enter their zip code in the box on left corner of the map, to shortlist all nearby locations. There might be special requirements and additional costs at some of these testing centers.
In addition to wearing masks when outside, officials reiterate the importance of practicing healthy hygiene habits and taking the following precautions to help contain this public health crisis:
- Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds, especially after going to the bathroom; before eating; and after blowing your nose, coughing, or sneezing. If soap and water are not available, use an alcohol-based hand sanitizer with at least 60% alcohol.
- Avoid touching your eyes, nose, and mouth with unwashed hands.
- Avoid close contact with people who are sick.
- Stay home when you are sick.
- Cover your coughs and sneezes. If you don’t have a tissue, cough or sneeze into your upper sleeve, not your hands. Remember to wash your hands after coughing or sneezing.
- Clean and disinfect frequently touched objects and surfaces using a regular household cleaning spray or wipe.
In other MCTX operational updates, Municipal Court located at 3845 Cartwright Rd., is closed to public until further notice. All dockets for next week are canceled and virtual dockets will resume beginning Tuesday, July 7.
For latest updates on COVID-19 and other emergency updates, residents may sign up to receive alerts and receive real-time information through the MCTX Emergency Management website, www.MissouriCityReady.com and the MCTX Twitter account, Twitter.com/MissouriCityEM.
For more information about Missouri City, please watch the City website: www.missouricitytx.gov, like us on Facebook—fb/MissouriCityTX, follow us on Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat—@MissouriCityTX and Nextdoor, watch Missouri City Television (Ch. 16 on Comcast and Ch. 99 on AT&T U-verse) or download the MCTX Mobile app (available for free in Google Play and the Apple app store).